Enid Blyton (1897-1968)

My Favourite Heroes
Book of the Month
Heroes' Gallery
Story Tellers
Our Heroes on the Big Screen
Quest for a Hero
Interesting Links
Questions and Suggestions


Enid Blyton was born at East Dulwich, South London on 11th August, 1897. She was the eldest, followed by two brothers Hanley and Carey. She grew up in Beckenham, Kent with her family. She won a children's poetry competition when she was fourteen years old and began submitting articles, stories and poems to various magazines. Inspite of being a talented pianist, she gave up her musical studies and trained as a teacher so that she could support herself while she continued writing in her spare time. She taught for five years at Bickley and Surbiton. She decided to become a children's author because she was enjoying her work with them. Her first book 'Child whispers' was published in 1922. In 1924 Enid Blyton married Hugh Pollock, the editor of the book departments of George Newnes. They soon moved a new house on Shortlands road, Buckingham which she named "Elfin Cottage'. In 1929 she along with Hugh Pollock moved to "Old Thatch" a sixteenth-century cottage by the river Thames. In 1931, she gave birth to her first daughter Gillian and in 1935, her second daughter Imogen was born. The relationship between her and Hugh Pollock began to deteriorate and finally in 1942 they agreed to a divorce. The next year she married a middle-aged surgeon named Dr. Kenneth Darrel Waters. She lived happily with Darrel Waters at Green Hedges. Her husband passed away in 1967. Enid Blyton died in her sleep on November 28, 1968 at a Hampstead nursing home. 


The Famous Five series
The Secret Seven series
The Mystery series
The Adventure series
The Barney Mystery series
Malory Towers series
St Clare series
The Naughtiest Girl series
Circus series
Adventurous Four series
Willow Farm series
Family series
Happy House series
Six Cousins series
Twins series
The Family at Red-Roofs
Golliwog Grumbled
The Night The Toys Had A Party
The Land of Blue Mountains
The Dog with the Long Tail
Mischief Again!
The Children of Cherry Tree Farm
The Children of Kidillin
Three Boys and a Circus
The Treasure Hunters
The Land of Far-Beyond
Shadow the Sheep Dog
The Adventures of Scamp
Smuggler Ben
The Boy Next Door
At Appletree Farm
Hollow Tree House
The Brown Family
The Put-Em-Rights
The Three Golliwogs
The Little White Duck
The House at the Corner
The Secret of Cliff Castle
The Smith Family
The Boy With the Loaves and the Fishes
The Little Girl at Capernaum
They Ran Away Together
Those Dreadful Children
What an Adventure
The Six Bad Boys
Let's Go to the Circus
The Very Big Secret
The Queer Adventure
Snowball the Pony
Enid Blyton's Christmas Story
Visitors in the Night
The Adventure of the Secret Necklace
The Children at Green Meadows
Bible Stories from the New Testament
Holiday House
The Troublesome Three
Four in a Family
The Adventure of the Strange Ruby
The Four Cousins
The Boy Who Wanted a Dog
The Boy Who Came Back
The Man Who Stopped to Help
The Treasure Hunters
Naughty Amelia Jane


An Unofficial Enid Blyton Website